With such hot careers, it would be understandable if they didn’t really have time to see each other. Indeed, 48 hours after their wedding, they had to head separate ways, reuniting later in New York City. But the two of them tout communication and gratefulness as the reasons that their relationship is still strong. Keep reading to find out why the center of their home together will be a kitchen table and a roast chicken, how Allen’s daughters convinced him to propose and why Harbour is “overwhelmed with gratitude” for the life they’re building together.

How did David Harbour meet his wife Lily Allen?

It’s unclear how the two met, but there were whispers throughout 2019 E! Online reported that they had dinner together and saw The Lehman Trilogy at the Piccadilly Theatre. After that, it seems like they were seen everywhere: a boxing match, an afterparty at SNL after he hosted (she also posted a picture of his biceps and captioned it “mine”), and walking around New York City.

Are David Harbour and Lily Allen getting married?

The two dated for almost a year, quarantining together with Allen’s daughters from her first marriage, Ethel, 9,  and Marnie Rose, 8, during the COVID-19 pandemic. The two girls would ultimately affect Harbour’s decision to pop the question. One day, they were riding bikes, “and the little one was riding along and she was going like, ‘David, Dad, David, Dad.’ Because the ‘d’ got her confused,” he shared with Jimmy Kimmel. “And the older one got very upset with that, which I understand, and was like, ‘He’s not our dad! He’s not our dad!’” Their conversation continued, with Harbour listening. “And then younger one was like, ‘Well what is he? He’s kind of our dad.’ She’s like, ‘No he’s not, he’s our stepdad.’ And she goes, ‘What is he?’ And she goes, ‘He’s just some guy in our lives!’” Turns out, that was what Harbour needed to hear to make things official. “I was like, ‘I need to marry this woman,’ " Harbour told Kimmel. “Because the emotional fallout … " Sometimes the girls still jokingly call him “some guy in our lives,” he told Kimmel, but he says it’s his “favorite thing I’ve ever been called.”

When did David Harbour and Lily Allen get married?

The couple was engaged in June of 2020 and got secretly married on September 7, 2020, at the Graceland Wedding Chapel in Las Vegas. “In a wedding officiated by the king himself, the people’s princess wed her devoted, low born, but kind credit card holder in a beautiful ceremony lit by the ashen skies courtesy of a burning state miles away in the midst of a global pandemic,” Harbour shared on Instagram two days later. “Refreshments were served at a small reception following.”

Do David Harbour and Lily Allen have children?

Not yet, but Harbour’s had a great time getting used to having kids. “Nothing can prepare you for the mystery and insanity of having children around,” Harbour told Vulture last year. “I now have two stepdaughters and they are more than I ever bargained for in both beautiful and awful ways.” Will Harbour and Lily have children together? “I think so,” Allen told The Sunday Times. “Especially now Marnie’s getting so big. It’s like, ‘No, my babies!’…I do like having babies around. I miss little terrors running around the house.”

Are Lily Allen and husband David Harbour still together?

Allen and Harbour had to grapple with the difficulties of their separate careers right away after tying the knot. They only saw each other for two days after their wedding before heading different ways. “I got married 48 days ago. I hadn’t seen my husband for 45 days after I got married," Allen shared in an Instagram Live. The British singer and her new husband reunited in New York. Allen says that communication is vital to making their relationship work. In her former marriage, “I wasn’t feeling empowered and I wasn’t able at that point to communicate my wants and needs and so things broke down,” she told PEOPLE. “I definitely don’t want that to happen again,” she added. “I’m very much in love and happy in this relationship [with David] and communication in all areas is important.” Allen and Harbour are now building a family home together in New York. Allen wants to have a big kitchen with a big table that “doesn’t exist yet.” “I want it to be where the kids come home from school and dump their bags on that table, where they want to be doing their homework while I’m cooking their food,” she shared with a podcast in March 2022. “I want it to feel like the engine room of our lives: where we communicate and share ideas together, emotions, talk about what’s happening with our day, unpack how we’re experiencing the world.” Allen is also looking forward to many Sunday chicken roasts in their new home. “I just love a Sunday roast. I love the ritual of it. I love getting up early on a Sunday morning and peeling all of my potatoes and putting them in the fridge to dry out. I just love all of the different bits.” she said. “I think it’s really important for my kids, and slightly manipulative as well, because I know they’ll always come back to me on the weekends because they’ll know that roast dinner is always going to be there at three o’clock on a Sunday afternoon. They’ll always come home. I think roast chicken is quite central to everything. The center of my world looks like a roast chicken.” As for Harbour, he’s just grateful for his new wife and family. “I’m so grateful that I’m not alone anymore, and that I have someone that I can tell everything to and who can tell me everything,” he’s said of his wife. “We can share this experience of walking through life together. I’m always so overcome with gratitude for that, because I’ve been alone for most of my life.” Next, Winona Ryder dishes on how Stranger Things brings out her maternal side.

David Harbour and Lily Allen s Relationship  How They Met  Married  Kids - 95