Swift revealed in a 2020 Rolling Stone interview, “I think that in knowing [Alwyn] and being in the relationship I am in now, I have definitely made decisions that have made my life feel more like a real-life and less like just a storyline to be commented on in tabloids. Whether that’s deciding where to live, who to hang out with, when to not take a picture—the idea of privacy feels so strange to try to explain, but it’s really just trying to find bits of normalcy.” Alwyn also appeared briefly in her 2020 Netflix documentary Miss Americana, in which Swift revealed they got together following the extreme public backlash she faced from her ongoing feud with Kanye West and Kim Kardashian. “I felt really alone. I felt really bitter. I felt sort of like a wounded animal lashing out,” Swift admitted in the film. “I figured I had to reset everything. I had to reconstruct an entire belief system for my own personal sanity. I also was falling in love with someone who had a really wonderfully normal, balanced, grounded life … We decided together that we wanted our relationship to be private [and] we were happy.” Are they still happy? All signs point to yes! But are Taylor Swift and Joe Alwyn engaged? Here’s everything to know so far.

Are Taylor Swift and Joe Alwyn engaged?

In February 2022, Life & Style reported that Swift and Alwyn were engaged, though neither Swift nor Alwyn confirmed or denied the story—but about a week and a half earlier, Swift was photographed in public for the first time in three months, conspicuously hiding her left hand in her coat pocket. So did Joe Alwyn really put a ring on it? Well, don’t expect to find out from him either way: The Conversations With Friends star told WSJ Magazine in April 2022, “If I had a pound for every time I think I’ve been told I’ve been engaged, then I’d have a lot of pound coins. I mean, the truth is, if the answer was yes, I wouldn’t say, and if the answer was no, I wouldn’t say.” He added of social media, “We live in a culture that people expect so much to be given … So that if you’re not posting all the time about what you’re doing, how you’re spending a day or how you made a breakfast, does that make you a recluse?” Alwyn’s sentiments echo an interview with Elle published a week earlier. When asked about his romance with the “Shake It Off” singer, he explained that he keeps his personal life private in part to avoid future problems from the public expecting the couple to share more than which they’re comfortable. “It’s not really [because I] want to be guarded and private, it’s more a response to something else,” he said. “We live in a culture that is so increasingly intrusive … the more you give—and frankly, even if you don’t give it—something will be taken.” In the Midnights track “Lavender Haze,” Swift sings, “I’m damned if I do give a damn what people say / The 1950s s**t they want from me / I just wanna stay in that lavender haze” and “All they keep asking me is if I’m gonna be your bride / The only kinda girl they see is a one night or a wife.”

So, is Taylor Swift engaged?

Tabloids have been posting headlines around engagement rumors since #Toe got together, however, Life & Style got rumors swirling again recently, tying a supposed engagement to Alwyn and Swift’s trip to Cornwall, England. Since neither one has commented on whether that story’s true or false, however, there’s no way to tell unless one of them opens up about a proposal (and that’s assuming one happened at all!).

Is Taylor Swift wearing an engagement ring?

Swift hasn’t sported an engagement ring publicly, but that doesn’t mean Swifties haven’t speculated about her jewelry before. In her Miss Americana documentary, some fans believed Swift was rocking a rock on her all-important left-hand ring finger in a scene in which she talks to her parents about politics. While at first glance it’s easy to mistake her ring for a huge diamond, eagle-eyed fans (and enlarged, sharpened photo stills) make it clear that Swift is actually wearing a cat ring. She’s worn cat rings before, often to greet her fans. Two years later, the engagement speculation hit a fever pitch when Swift was photographed with her left hand in her coat pocket. Considering it was the dead of winter, it’s very possible that the poor woman was just cold!

Has Taylor Swift ever been engaged before?

As far as the world knows, Swift hasn’t been engaged previously. Her longest relationship prior to her romance with Alwyn was her romance with Scottish DJ, producer and singer Calvin Harris. The pair began dating in early 2015; Swift gushed of Harris to Vogue in April 2016, “I’m in a magical relationship right now. And of course, I want it to be ours, and low-key. This is the one thing that’s been mine about my personal life.” Two months later, they split, and Swift quickly rebounded with Loki star Tom Hiddleston.

How long have Taylor Swift and Joe Alwyn been together?

Swift and Alwyn reportedly began dating in September 2016, when they were both spotted at a Kings of Leon concert with some members of Swift’s squad. In her song “Dress” from her 2017 album Reputation, Swift hints at meeting Alwyn at the Met Gala in May 2016 when she sings, “Flashback when you met me / Your buzzcut and my hair bleached.” At the time, Swift’s hair was bleached to a bright platinum blond, while the British actor had—you guessed it—a buzzcut.

What are Taylor Swift songs about Joe Alwyn?

Alwyn has proven to be a potent muse for Swift. Songs Swift has written about the actor include “…Ready For It?,” “Gorgeous,” “Endgame,” “Delicate,” “King of My Heart,” “Dress,” “Call It What You Want” and “New Year’s Day” from Reputation; “Cruel Summer,” “I Think He Knows,” “Paper Rings,” “London Boy,” “Lover,” “Cornelia Street” and “Daylight” from Lover. On folklore, “Peace,” “Invisible String” and “The Lakes” are inspired by Alwyn; as are “willow” and “Long Story Short” from evermore. Much of Midnights is reflective of Swift and Alwyn’s romance, including “Lavender Haze,” “Snow on the Beach,” “Labyrinth,” “Sweet Nothing,” “Mastermind” and “Paris” and “The Great War” from the Midnights (3 AM Edition). Next, find out Taylor Swift’s net worth.