However, Anderson’s personal life—including his marriage to wife Alvina Stewart—hasn’t been pothole-free; after the two came close to splitting up a few years back, Page Six reported on March 28, 2022, that Stewart has now filed for a second time to divorce Anderson. “According to the filing, Stewart claims the date of separation is ‘TBD’ and she is requesting spousal support from the Black-ish star,” the outlet reported. Here’s what we know about Anthony Anderson’s wife, Alvina Stewart.

Is Anthony Anderson married?

Anderson has been married for more than 22 years to Alvina Anderson, née Alvina Stewart, although it seems their marriage may be coming to a close with her recent separation filing.

Is Anthony Anderson married to Tracee Ellis Ross?

No! Even though she’s played his wife for eight years on Black-ish, Tracee Ellis Ross is not married to Anderson in real life. She’s going to miss him when the show ends, though. “Ending a show is hard,” Ross has said. “I’ve spent more time being married to Dre, than not. It’s the longest relationship I’ve had.”

Who is Anthony Anderson’s wife, Alvina Stewart?

Stewart keeps a very low profile and keeps their relationship on the down-low, so little is known about her publicly. She did have an Instagram account at one point, but it was private–and has since vanished.

How long has Anthony Anderson been married to his wife?

The Andersons have been married since 1999. It hasn’t been smooth sailing the whole way ; in September 2015, Alvina filed for divorce, citing irreconcilable differences and stating that she’d give her husband reasonable visitation with their children. She also said that they hadn’t lived together since April of the year before. Happily, in January 2017, she dismissed her petition for divorce–and the two have been reconciled ever since.

How did Anthony Anderson meet his wife Alvina Stewart?

They met in college when both were attending Howard University. It was her first week at the school. Anderson has told the story of their meet-cute many times, including on The Tonight Show and in his 2021 Parade interview, in which he said: “My sophomore year [1989], her freshman year, I knew a girl who lived in the apartment, so I went to knock on the door to invite her to this party that me and my buddies were having. My wife answered the door. I was like, ‘I was coming to invite Stacey to this party we’re having.’ Stacey didn’t show up, but my wife did—and we have been together ever since that night. And I was just me: I got there early, she didn’t see nobody else, she was, ‘All right, I’m gonna rock out with this dude!’ We got married on our 10-year anniversary.”

When did Anthony Anderson get married?

Anthony and Alvina married in 1999, the year Anderson broke onto the big screen in a trio of feature films: Liberty Heights, Life and Trippin’.

Does Anthony Anderson have kids?

Anderson and Stewart have two children: Nathan, who is 25, and Kyra, 26. Nathan has already followed his dad into show business, appearing in Joseph “Rev Run” Simmons’ show All About the Washingtons and the short-lived Richie Rich. Unfortunately, he was too cool to play the younger version of his dad on Black-ish; the role required a nerdier kid. “I wanted him to be Andre Jr. on Black-ish, but my son’s cool factor… You know, he just has a little too much swag, and I don’t know where he gets it from,” Anderson once told RachealRay. Like his parents, Nathan went to Howard University and fell head over heels, telling his dad that he met the girl of his dreams in his first week. “He’s actually following in my footsteps because I found my wife at Howard,” Anderson told Jimmy Fallon in 2018. “But it was her first week, not my first week.”  In 2018, Anderson said he might graduate with his son, since he had to drop out of Howard after his junior year. “I was paying for college myself, and I ran out of money after my junior year,” he explained to Fallon. “I’ve been speaking with the university … about creating a curriculum that I can take online and at home … so I can walk with my son in 2022. So I have four years to finish one year of college.” Kyra Graduated from the University of San Diego, where she majored in sociology and ethnic studies. “She wants to change the world,” Anderson once said, adding that she wants to help disenfranchised people. In fact, Anderson was going to purchase a Chick-Fil-A franchise for her, but she turned him down. Anderson has also said that his kids were getting a little spoiled due to his celebrity status and he wanted them to make good financial decisions in their lives, so he’s cut them off financially.  He posted a rare shot of daughter Kyra on Instagram last year for her 25th birthday in 2021. “Just like life, relationships are an adventure. Even ours,” he wrote. “Sometimes the road will be smooth and sometimes we’ll get stuck in the sand. It’s all a part of the journey. Let’s not get stuck on being stuck as it’s not the end of the road just a part of it. I LOVE YOU forever and always! DAD.”  His kids have also inspired some stories on his sitcom; one year he even sent them awards for inspiring him. “This year when the show won an NAACP Image Award, I had awards sent to my children with their names on them, and they said, ‘Why are you doing this?’” he recalled. “And I said, ‘Because of you, we got these awards. I’m telling stories about you two, so I should’ve done this last year when we won, but I’m doing for it you now.’” Next, Will Ferrell’s Greatest Role Just May Be Husband and Dad! What We Know About His Wife, Viveca Paulin 

Anthony Anderson s Wife Alvina Stewart  How They Met  Kids  Divorce - 63